New Project – Accord ’06 Carputer

So, I’ve been toying around with the idea of making my own carputer ever since I got my first car. I’ve decided to actually do it now that I actually have the time/money to do so. Most of the stuff I’m probably going to be posting is just my own notes so I can keep them in one place. Feel free to comment about anything and let me know if you have any ideas that might help.

My basic plan is to take a stock headunit (so I can keep the buttons and dials) and add a touchscreen to control a small embedded PC, probably an ARM based one running Linux.

To start off here is the used headunit I got off of eBay that I’m going to mod:

New headunit from eBay

I’m planning on cutting out the old screen and the buttons below it and putting in a 5.7″ touchscreen which seem to fit perfectly. I started out with another headunit, but had the wrong type of climate control. Here’s a picture of that one with the hole cut out for the touch screen:

New Headunit with Touchscreen

I’m planning on filling in the extra space around the screen with Bondo or fiberglass and spray-painting the silver part the same silver color.

~ by lwalkera on September 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
